By the Numbers: Dallas Cowboys in the Pro Bowl

by | Jan 25, 2019 | Articles, The League, The Team

Math is fun when you take numbers and apply it to the Dallas Cowboys and their place in Pro Bowl history. Here’s our look

67,000: Dollars earned by Cowboys players on the NFC roster if they win the Pro Bowl.

34,000: Dollars earned by Cowboys players on the NFC roster if they lose the Pro Bowl game to the AFC.

985: Miles flown from DFW to Orlando by the DCC’s Lacey who is representing the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders at this year’s Pro Bowl.

98: Number of Dallas Cowboys players selected for the Pro Bowl, all the way from TE Jim Doran in the expansion season of 1960, to first-time Pro Bowl selections Byron Jones and Leighton Vander Esch in the 2019 Pro Bowl.

11: All-time record number of Pro Bowl selections for a Cowboys’ player, held jointly by tight end Jason Witten and defensive tackle Bob Lilly who were each named to the Pro Bowl eleven times.

10: The number of Pro Bowl selections for both DB Mel Renfro and OL Larry Allen. Renfro and Allen join Lilly and Witten as the four Cowboys in team history to reach double-digit Pro Bowl selections.

9: Number of touchdowns scored during the 2018 regular season by Zeke Elliott who was named to his second Pro Bowl. Zeke not only led the NFL in rushing (1,434) and the Cowboys in rushing and receptions (77), he scored 9 TDs (6 rushing, 3 receiving).

8: Number of Cowboys players named to the Pro Bowl this season including Tyron Smith, Zack Martin, Ezekiel Elliott, DeMarcus Lawrence, Byron Jones, Leighton Vander Esch, Dak Prescott, and Amari Cooper. Vander Esch, Prescott, and Cooper were named as injury replacements.

8: Amari Cooper becomes the 8th wide receiver in Cowboys’ history selected for the Pro Bowl. The list of the great eight includes: Bob Hayes, Drew Pearson, Tony Hill, Michael Irvin, Terrell Owens, Miles Austin, Dez Bryant, and Cooper. Cooper was previously named to the Pro Bowl’s AFC squad twice as a member of the Oakland Raiders.

7: Number of Cowboys quarterbacks in team history selected to the Pro Bowl, including Dak Prescott who was named to his second Pro Bowl this year. The 7 Pro Bowl quarterbacks in Cowboys history include: Eddie LeBaron, Don Meredith, Roger Staubach, Danny White, Troy Aikman, Tony Romo, and Dak Prescott.

6: Number of Cowboys players you will see in this year’s game Pro Bowl Tyron Smith and Zack Martin withdrew from the game due to lingering injuries (Martin’s sprained knee, Smith’s neck and elbow injuries).

5: Five straight Pro Bowl selections for RG Zack Martin. He is 5-for-5: 5 NFL seasons, 5 Pro Bowls.

4: Years in a row that the Pro Bowl has been held in Orlando. Previous locations included Aloha Stadium in Honolulu. But instead of a free trip to Hawaii, Pro Bowl players and coaches the past four years have earned a trip to Orlando.

3: Three times in the past five seasons Jason Garrett and the Cowboys’ coaching staff have been selected to serve as Pro Bowl coaches for the NFC squad, including this weekend.

2: Cowboys’ draft picks from Boise State that are representing the Cowboys in the 2019 Pro Bowl: defensive end DeMarcus Lawrence and rookie linebacker Leighton Vander Esch. Another Boise State alum, former quarterback Kellen Moore, will be coaching the NFC team as a member of the Cowboys’ coaching staff.

1: Chance to watch the 2019 Pro Bowl. The game will be simulcast by ESPN and ABC on Sunday, January 27th at 2pm Central from Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida.